A Stronghold in the Day of Trouble

Bible:

An oracle concerning Nineveh. The book of the vision of Nahum of Elkosh.

The Lord is good,
a stronghold in the day of trouble;
he knows those who take refuge in him.
But with an overflowing flood
he will make a complete end of the adversaries,
and will pursue his enemies into darkness.
What do you plot against the Lord?
He will make a complete end;
trouble will not rise up a second time.

Thus says the Lord,
“Though they are at full strength and many,
they will be cut down and pass away.
Though I have afflicted you,
I will afflict you no more.
And now I will break his yoke from off you
and will burst your bonds apart.” Nahum 1:1, 7-9, 12-13 ESV

In you, O Lord, do I take refuge;
let me never be put to shame;
in your righteousness deliver me!
Incline your ear to me;
rescue me speedily!
Be a rock of refuge for me,
a strong fortress to save me!

For you are my rock and my fortress;
and for your name’s sake you lead me and guide me;
you take me out of the net they have hidden for me,
for you are my refuge.
Into your hand I commit my spirit;
you have redeemed me, O Lord, faithful God. Psalm 31:1-5 ESV

Reflection:

Joe’s younger brother, Zach, was having trouble with a bully in his class named Caleb. Caleb sometimes would wait for Zach after school and pick a fight with him, and because Caleb was bigger and stronger than Zach, Zach always lost. He could have gone to his parents or his teacher for help, but he wanted to try to take care of things by himself. But one day Zach told Joe what was happening, and Joe decided to take care of Caleb once and for all. The next time Caleb tried to pick a fight with Zach, Joe was waiting nearby, and he came to his brother’s rescue. After that, he always walked home with his younger brother, protecting him, and Zach didn’t have any more trouble with the bully.

The prophet Nahum spoke to God’s people when they were being threatened by the Assyrian empire. The capital city of Assyria was Nineveh, and Nahum had some strong words to say against Nineveh. He said that Nineveh was plotting against the Lord, but that the Lord would put an end to it, and the Assyrians wouldn’t rise up a second time to hurt his people. The Lord called to his people to take refuge in him and to let him protect them, and he would be good to them. They had gone their own way, and he had allowed the Assyrians to hurt them, but the time for that had come to an end. He would set them free from Nineveh and the power the Assyrian empire had over them.

We also were under the power of death and all the forces of evil, and it was all because we turned away from God and went our own way. But God loves us very much, and he wants to help us and protect us. He sent Jesus to bring us back to him. Jesus died on the cross and rose again from the dead to defeat all the forces of sin and death and the devil, and we can take refuge in Jesus and in what he’s done for us. He has set us free from everything that had power over us, and he is our stronghold in the day of trouble, now and always.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for sending Jesus to be our protection and our Savior. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

