I Will Not Forget You

Bible:

Can a woman forget her nursing child,
that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb?
Even these may forget,
yet I will not forget you.
Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands;
your walls are continually before me. Isaiah 49:15-16 ESV

Hear, O Lord, when I cry aloud;
be gracious to me and answer me!
You have said, “Seek my face.”
My heart says to you,
“Your face, Lord, do I seek.”
Hide not your face from me.
Turn not your servant away in anger,
O you who have been my help.
Cast me not off; forsake me not,
O God of my salvation!
For my father and my mother have forsaken me,
but the Lord will take me in. Psalm 27:7-10 ESV

Reflection:

A mother bird was sitting on her egg when it began to jump. The mother realized that her baby would soon hatch, and she flew away to get some food for her hungry new baby. When the baby bird came out of his egg, he found that he was alone in his nest. He wanted his mother, so he began to look for her everywhere. He asked a kitten and a hen, a dog and a cow, a boat and a plane and a steam shovel if they were his mother. He thought that his mother had forgotten him, but the steam shovel lifted him up and put him back into his nest, and then his mother came with some food for him to eat. She hadn’t forgotten him, after all!

Most mothers would never, ever forget their children, because they love them very much. The Lord spoke through the prophet Isaiah to say that even if a mother could ever forget her child, he would never forget his children. He said that they were engraved on the palms of his hands, and that he would always remember and help the children he loves.

Sometimes we are like that baby bird. We think that God has forgotten about us, and we worry and try to find him. But God never forgets us, and he is never far away from us. He loves us and hears our prayers and helps us every day. God sent Jesus, our Savior, to die on the cross for us so that our sins could be forgiven. Because of what Jesus did, we are God’s children always, and nothing will ever separate us from our heavenly Father’s love for us.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for loving us and making us your children through Jesus, our Savior. In His Name, Amen.

Source:

Eastman, P. D. Are You My Mother?  New York: Random House, 1960.

