It’s Not Fair!

Bible:

In those days Hezekiah became sick and was at the point of death. And Isaiah the prophet the son of Amoz came to him and said to him, “Thus says the Lord, ‘Set your house in order, for you shall die; you shall not recover.’” Then Hezekiah turned his face to the wall and prayed to the Lord, saying, “Now, O Lord, please remember how I have walked before you in faithfulness and with a whole heart, and have done what is good in your sight.” And Hezekiah wept bitterly. II Kings 20:1-3 ESV

Then Job answered and said:

“Today also my complaint is bitter;
my hand is heavy on account of my groaning.
Oh, that I knew where I might find him,
that I might come even to his seat!
I would lay my case before him
and fill my mouth with arguments.
I would know what he would answer me
and understand what he would say to me.
Would he contend with me in the greatness of his power?
No; he would pay attention to me.
There an upright man could argue with him,
and I would be acquitted forever by my judge. Job 23:1-7 ESV

Reflection:

Do you remember Job? He was a very good man who loved and served God, but God let Satan test and hurt Job. Job was very rich, but he lost all his riches in one day, and not only that, he lost his seven sons and three daughters as well. Then Job lost his health too, and his whole body became covered with painful sores. Job didn’t think it was fair that he had to suffer so much. He had been faithful to the Lord, and it seemed as if God didn’t even care about him. He felt as if God was treating him like an enemy, and more than anything he wanted to talk to God and get answers to his questions about why all these terrible things were happening to him.

King Hezekiah also felt that God wasn’t being fair to him. After loving and serving God and being a faithful king to God’s people, Hezekiah became very sick, and the prophet Isaiah came to him with a sad message from God. Isaiah told the king that he should put all his affairs in order, because he was about to die. King Hezekiah didn’t want to die yet, and he didn’t think it was fair at all. He cried out to God, reminding him of how faithful he had been, and asked God to hear him and answer him.

Sometimes the Lord allows trouble and hurt into our lives also, and it doesn’t seem fair. We feel as if God doesn’t care about us or about the ways we’ve tried to love and serve him. We might cry out to God the way Job and Hezekiah did, wishing he would answer us and explain to us why things happen the way they do. God doesn’t always give us the answers we might wish for, but he always hears us when we call to him. He is never far away from us, and no matter what happens he loves us and cares for us. When we don’t understand the pain and sadness that we have, we can look to Jesus. Jesus came into our world to take all our sorrows and hurts and sins on himself. He took them to the cross and suffered and died for us there, and it’s Jesus’ cross that helps us see just how much God cares about us. God might not always give us the answers we look for, but he always gives us his help and his love through Jesus, our Savior.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for loving us. Please stay beside us and help us, especially when we have sadness and trouble. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

