Help is Promised

Bible:

When the servants of King Hezekiah came to Isaiah, Isaiah said to them, “Say to your master, ‘Thus says the Lord: Do not be afraid because of the words that you have heard, with which the servants of the king of Assyria have reviled me. Behold, I will put a spirit in him, so that he shall hear a rumor and return to his own land, and I will make him fall by the sword in his own land.’” II Kings 19:5-7 ESV

Our soul waits for the Lord;
he is our help and our shield.
For our heart is glad in him,
because we trust in his holy name.
Let your steadfast love, O Lord, be upon us,
even as we hope in you. Psalm 33:20-22 ESV

Reflection:

Many years ago I was attending a conference in a huge hotel in downtown Chicago. When it was time to leave, I decided to walk down the stairs, but I didn’t know that the doors to the stairway were all locked on the inside. I walked down a few flights and tried to go out the door, but it was locked! I walked up a flight and tried to go out that door, but it was also locked. I tried several doors, but all of them were locked, and I was trapped, alone, in a dimly lit staircase. I was scared. I ran up the stairs until I found a door with voices on the other side, and I pounded on the door. Someone came, and I told them I was trapped. She said the door was locked on her side, too, but that she would go and get some help. Then I sat down on the stairs and waited. I wasn’t afraid any more, because I knew that help was coming.

King Hezekiah was afraid of the Assyrians who were threatening Jerusalem, and he sent messengers to the prophet Isaiah. Isaiah sent a message back to Hezekiah from the Lord. God had told him that he would keep his people safe from their enemies. God would send the Assyrians a rumor that would make them return to their own land, and the king of the Assyrians would die in his own land and never come back to threaten Hezekiah and his people. All Hezekiah had to to was to wait and see how God would help him.

We also have God’s promise that he will help us when we are in trouble. We don’t usually know how or when he will help us, but we can always be sure that he will hear our prayers and help us in the way that is best for us. We know this because when we had our worst trouble of all and were separated from God because of our sins and doomed to evil and death, God came to help us in Jesus. Jesus died on the cross to take our sins away, and he rose again from the dead to defeat death and the devil. Because of Jesus, we are God’s people, and he is with us to help us and save us now and forever.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for hearing our prayers and helping us, and especially for Jesus, our Savior. In His Name, Amen.

