A Father’s Love

Bible:

How can I give you up, O Ephraim?
How can I hand you over, O Israel?
How can I make you like Admah?
How can I treat you like Zeboiim?
My heart recoils within me;
my compassion grows warm and tender.
I will not execute my burning anger;
I will not again destroy Ephraim;
for I am God and not a man,
the Holy One in your midst,
and I will not come in wrath. Hosea 11:8-9 ESV

For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.
For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts. Isaiah 55:8-9 ESV

Reflection:

Han Solo had a son named Ben, and he and his mother Leia Organa raised Ben to work for the New Republic. But when Ben grew up he rejected everything he had been taught by his parents and turned to the dark side. Ben’s name was changed to Kylo Ren and he became a powerful man in the evil First Order. Even though he was part of efforts to do terrible things, his parents never stopped loving him. Han Solo went to find his son and to plead with him to come home. The father gave his life trying to turn his son away from the dark side and to bring him home.

The compassion Han Solo had for his son in this movie is an example of the compassion a good father has for his son or his daughter. Even when a father on earth might give up, God still has love and compassion for his children who turn away from him. The Lord spoke through the prophet Hosea to tell his people Israel about the concern and tenderness he had for them. After describing how Ephraim, or Israel, had turned away from him to worship other gods and goddesses and how he needed to punish them for their behavior and their false hearts, God cried out, “How can I give you up, O Ephraim?” God still loved his people and longed to bring them back to him. He said that he wouldn’t come to them in anger.

God’s has a father’s heart of love for us. Even though we’ve turned away from him and gone our own way, he always longs to bring us back to him. He came to us in Jesus to pay the price to bring us home as his children. Jesus came to us in love and compassion and gave his life on the cross so that our sins could be forgiven and we could return to our heavenly Father. Because of Jesus, we have God’s love and forgiveness everyday, and are God’s children now and always.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for the great love you showed us in our Savior, Jesus. In His Name, Amen.

Source:

Abrams, J. J., dir. Star Wars: the Force Awakens Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures, 2015. Film.

 

