Always Enough

Bible:

And after a while the brook dried up, because there was no rain in the land.

Then the word of the Lord came to him, “Arise, go to Zarephath, which belongs to Sidon, and dwell there. Behold, I have commanded a widow there to feed you.” So he arose and went to Zarephath. And when he came to the gate of the city, behold, a widow was there gathering sticks. And he called to her and said, “Bring me a little water in a vessel, that I may drink.” And as she was going to bring it, he called to her and said, “Bring me a morsel of bread in your hand.” And she said, “As the Lord your God lives, I have nothing baked, only a handful of flour in a jar and a little oil in a jug. And now I am gathering a couple of sticks that I may go in and prepare it for myself and my son, that we may eat it and die.” And Elijah said to her, “Do not fear; go and do as you have said. But first make me a little cake of it and bring it to me, and afterward make something for yourself and your son. For thus says the Lord, the God of Israel, ‘The jar of flour shall not be spent, and the jug of oil shall not be empty, until the day that the Lord sends rain upon the earth.’” And she went and did as Elijah said. And she and he and her household ate for many days. The jar of flour was not spent, neither did the jug of oil become empty, according to the word of the Lord that he spoke by Elijah. I Kings 17:7-16 ESV

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst. But I said to you that you have seen me and yet do not believe. All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never cast out. For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will but the will of him who sent me. And this is the will of him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that he has given me, but raise it up on the last day. For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.” John 6:35-40 ESV

Reflection:

There was once a poor little girl who lived with her mother, and they often didn’t have enough to eat. One day the little girl went into the forest near her village, and there she met an old woman. The old woman gave her a magic cooking pot. If she was hungry, all the little girl had to do was say, “Cook, little pot, cook,” and the pot would be full of good food. When she’d had enough to eat, she would say, “Stop, little pot, stop,” and the pot would stop cooking food.

This is only a story, but what happened to Elijah and the widow and her son sounds a little like the magic of a fairy tale. It’s a true story, though! God continued to provide for his prophet, Elijah, in an amazing way, and he also cared for this poor woman and her son. The widow and her son were not from the country of Israel, but as Elijah stayed with them they not only were given enough to eat every day, but they also learned about the true God and his love and care.

God gives us what we need every day, too. He might not make us rich or give us everything we want, but he will always be there and help us with the things we truly need. One day Jesus fed thousands of people with just a little bread and fish, and after that happened he told them about what they needed most of all. They needed him! He had come to give them eternal life with their heavenly Father, and at the last day to bring their dead bodies back to life forever. He would soon die on the cross and rise again for that reason. What Jesus had to offer the people he fed back then is now ours, too. Our biggest need of all is for Jesus, and he’s given himself to us now and forever.

Prayer:

Dear Jesus, thank you for giving yourself up on the cross for us and for providing for our needs every day. Amen.

