Only with God’s Help

Bible:

Zerah the Ethiopian came out against them with an army of a million men and 300 chariots, and came as far as Mareshah. And Asa went out to meet him, and they drew up their lines of battle in the Valley of Zephathah at Mareshah. And Asa cried to the Lord his God, “O Lord, there is none like you to help, between the mighty and the weak. Help us, O Lord our God, for we rely on you, and in your name we have come against this multitude. O Lord, you are our God; let not man prevail against you.” So the Lord defeated the Ethiopians before Asa and before Judah, and the Ethiopians fled. Asa and the people who were with him pursued them as far as Gerar, and the Ethiopians fell until none remained alive, for they were broken before the Lord and his army. The men of Judah carried away very much spoil. And they attacked all the cities around Gerar, for the fear of the Lord was upon them. They plundered all the cities, for there was much plunder in them. And they struck down the tents of those who had livestock and carried away sheep in abundance and camels. Then they returned to Jerusalem. II Chronicles 14:9-15 ESV

Out of my distress I called on the Lord;
the Lord answered me and set me free.
The Lord is on my side; I will not fear.
What can man do to me?
The Lord is on my side as my helper;
I shall look in triumph on those who hate me.

It is better to take refuge in the Lord
than to trust in man.
It is better to take refuge in the Lord
 than to trust in princes.

All nations surrounded me;
in the name of the Lord I cut them off!
They surrounded me, surrounded me on every side;
in the name of the Lord I cut them off!
They surrounded me like bees;
they went out like a fire among thorns;
in the name of the Lord I cut them off!
I was pushed hard, so that I was falling,
but the Lord helped me. Psalm 118:5-13 ESV

Reflection:

This past summer, as I write this, there was a terrible wildfire in Alaska called the McHugh Creek Fire. The fire covered 778 acres of land, and fire fighters worked hard to put it out and to protect homes and property near the fire from being destroyed. The fire was successfully put out after a number of days, and one big reason they were able to put the fire out was rain. It rained hard for several days as the fire was burning, and the rain helped the fire fighters do their work. Rain can sometimes be a powerful force that helps slow down wildfires and contain them so that fire fighters can put them out more quickly.

After years of peace, war came to King Asa of Judah. An army from ancient Ethiopia came against the southern kingdom, and even though Asa had prepared an army and had fortified some cities for war, he could see that the enemy army was much stronger than his army was. He wouldn’t be able to defeat the Ethiopians unless God helped him, so he called on God in prayer for help. God heard his prayer and helped him against his enemies. The Ethiopian army was defeated and the army of Judah was victorious.  The Bible says that the Lord defeated the Ethiopians, and they couldn’t have done it without God’s help.

We sometimes face problems that we can’t handle alone. We need help from the Lord to get through the trouble we are facing. The same God who helped Asa against his enemies is also there for us. We can call on him in prayer at any time and be sure that he will help us in the way that is best. The most wonderful way God helps us is by forgiving our sins and giving us new life through what Jesus did for us on the cross. When it comes to forgiveness and life with God, we are completely helpless, but God has done all the work to give us the help we need through Jesus, our Savior.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for hearing our prayers and for giving us forgiveness through Jesus. In His Name, Amen.

Source:

http://www.adn.com/alaska-news/anchorage/2016/07/25/lots-of-rain-still-in-forecast-for-mchugh-fire/

