God Knows All About Us

Bible:

O Lord, you have searched me and known me!
You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
you discern my thoughts from afar.
You search out my path and my lying down
and are acquainted with all my ways.
Even before a word is on my tongue,
behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.
You hem me in, behind and before,
and lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
it is high; I cannot attain it. Psalm 139:1-6 ESV

By this we shall know that we are of the truth and reassure our heart before him; for whenever our heart condemns us, God is greater than our heart, and he knows everything. I John 3:19-20 ESV

Reflection:

When you walk into a small store, you might see a surveillance camera. This camera records everything that happens, and if there is a robbery the police can see a film of the whole thing and maybe catch the criminal. Sometimes there might be a microphone to also catch the sounds. Sometimes law enforcement people might hide a surveillance camera and a microphone in a room and watch and listen to everything that happens. It’s also possible to listen to telephone conversations or watch what a person does on the internet. There are also devices that can track anywhere a car or a person goes.

It can be scary to think that there are ways people can watch and listen to us and even follow where we go. But there is one thing that no one can do, and that is read what we are thinking and see what is in our hearts. Only God can do that. God not only sees and hears everything we do, no matter where we go, but he can also see what is in our hearts and minds. Before we even say a word or do anything, he knows all about it, and this can also be scary. God sees all our bad thought and knows the mean words we want to say, even if we don’t say them. He sees when we have anger and hate in our hearts, even if we are nice and friendly on the outside.

When we realize that God knows our hearts, we realize how hopeless it is to try to be as good as God wants us to be all the time, every day. We know that without God’s love and forgiveness, we can never hope to please God or be his people. But God sent Jesus to take all our sins to the cross with him, and that includes even the sins that no one else knows about or can see. Jesus paid for all our sins, and we have God’s complete forgiveness because of Jesus. Even when we’re feeling bad about our angry and mean thoughts and feelings, we know that God’s love for us is much bigger than our hearts, and that his love for us will never end.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for the love and forgiveness you give us in Jesus. In His Name, Amen.

