Hungry for God

Bible:

Oh, taste and see that the Lord is good!
Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him!
Oh, fear the Lord, you his saints,
for those who fear him have no lack!
The young lions suffer want and hunger;
but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.

Come, O children, listen to me;
I will teach you the fear of the Lord.
What man is there who desires life
and loves many days, that he may see good?
Keep your tongue from evil
and your lips from speaking deceit.
Turn away from evil and do good;
seek peace and pursue it. Psalm 34:8-14 ESV

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst. But I said to you that you have seen me and yet do not believe. All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never cast out. For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will but the will of him who sent me. And this is the will of him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that he has given me, but raise it up on the last day. For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.” John 6:35-40 ESV

Reflection:

Once there was a very stubborn person who insisted that he didn’t like green eggs and ham, even though he had never eaten them. Sam I Am wanted him to try them, but he wouldn’t. He kept saying, “I do not like green eggs and ham. I do not like them, Sam I Am!” But Sam I Am finally convinced him to taste green eggs and ham, and he discovered that he liked them very much, after all. He said, “I do so like green eggs and ham! Thank you! Thank you, Sam I Am.” All he had to do was taste them, and he discovered that they were very good.

Psalm 34 invites people to taste and see that the Lord is good. Some people don’t know God’s love and goodness, and they don’t know how wonderful it is to go to him for help and protection. Just as young lions are sometimes hungry for food, they are hungry for peace, and they can only find this peace in God. This psalm teaches us that true happiness and life come from God, from learning from him and from doing things his way in our lives. It invites us to put our trust in God and to live our life in him.

Jesus said that he is the bread of life. He promises that people who come to him and believe in him will never be hungry and thirsty for peace with God. Jesus died on the cross to make us his own, and God sends his Holy Spirit to bring us to Jesus. He holds us and keeps us with him so that we have life with him. Our life with Jesus begins right now, but it will last forever. Even after we die, we know we will be with Jesus, and that he will bring us out of the grave on the last day to enjoy life with him always. This gives us a peace and joy that no one can take away from us.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for your love and goodness, and especially for Jesus, our Savior, who fills our hunger and gives us peace with you. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Source:

Dr. Seuss Green Eggs and Ham New York: Random House, 1960.

