God’s Ambassador

Bible:

Moses said to the Lord, “See, you say to me, ‘Bring up this people,’ but you have not let me know whom you will send with me. Yet you have said, ‘I know you by name, and you have also found favor in my sight.’ Now therefore, if I have found favor in your sight, please show me now your ways, that I may know you in order to find favor in your sight. Consider too that this nation is your people.” And he said, “My presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” And he said to him, “If your presence will not go with me, do not bring us up from here. For how shall it be known that I have found favor in your sight, I and your people? Is it not in your going with us, so that we are distinct, I and your people, from every other people on the face of the earth?”

And the Lord said to Moses, “This very thing that you have spoken I will do, for you have found favor in my sight, and I know you by name.” Exodus 33:12-17 ESV

She will bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins.” All this took place to fulfill what the Lord had spoken by the prophet:

“Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son,
and they shall call his name Immanuel” Matthew 1:21-23 ESV

Reflection:

Have you ever heard of an ambassador? An ambassador is someone who goes to another country and represents his or her own country there. So, an ambassador from the United States might be sent to another country like France to represent the United States there. The ambassador speaks for the needs and interests of his or her own country in a way that the other country can understand and respect.

Moses was kind of an ambassador for God. God had called him to lead the people of Israel to the promised land. God had been present with his people in a special way until they worshipped the golden calf. Then God had said he would no longer go with his people in that way. Moses was very upset about this and pleaded to God for Israel. God told him that he would be present with Moses. If Moses had God with him, he could lead the people of Israel. He could speak to the people for God in a way they could understand. God would be with his people by being with Moses.

Many years later God sent Jesus, the promised Savior, to his people. Jesus was also an ambassador for God. He spoke to the people for God. But Jesus wasn’t just an ambassador. Jesus was God himself. In Jesus, God was once again present with his people in an even more special way. God was with his people in Jesus then, and he continues to be with us today and always through Jesus. Jesus’ love and forgiveness that he won for us on the cross brought us back to God, and we can be sure that he will never leave us.

Prayer:

Dear Jesus, thank you for being God with us and for us. Amen.

