More Tricks

Bible:

As soon as Rachel had borne Joseph, Jacob said to Laban, “Send me away, that I may go to my own home and country. Give me my wives and my children for whom I have served you, that I may go, for you know the service that I have given you.” But Laban said to him, “If I have found favor in your sight, I have learned by divination that the Lord has blessed me because of you. Name your wages, and I will give it.” Jacob said to him, “You yourself know how I have served you, and how your livestock has fared with me. For you had little before I came, and it has increased abundantly, and the Lord has blessed you wherever I turned. But now when shall I provide for my own household also?” He said, “What shall I give you?” Jacob said, “You shall not give me anything. If you will do this for me, I will again pasture your flock and keep it: let me pass through all your flock today, removing from it every speckled and spotted sheep and every black lamb, and the spotted and speckled among the goats, and they shall be my wages. So my honesty will answer for me later, when you come to look into my wages with you. Every one that is not speckled and spotted among the goats and black among the lambs, if found with me, shall be counted stolen.” Laban said, “Good! Let it be as you have said.” But that day Laban removed the male goats that were striped and spotted, and all the female goats that were speckled and spotted, every one that had white on it, and every lamb that was black, and put them in the charge of his sons. And he set a distance of three days’ journey between himself and Jacob, and Jacob pastured the rest of Laban’s flock. Genesis 30:25-36 ESV

But my eyes are toward you, O God, my Lord;
in you I seek refuge; leave me not defenseless!
Keep me from the trap that they have laid for me
and from the snares of evildoers!
Let the wicked fall into their own nets,
while I pass by safely. Psalm 141:8-10 ESV

Reflection:

Snow White’s evil stepmother was very jealous of Snow White. Her stepmother, the queen, wanted to be the most beautiful woman in the land, but Snow White was more beautiful. The Queen tried everything to get rid of Snow White. She dressed her in rags and made her work hard, but Snow White was still beautiful. She sent her away with a huntsman who was supposed to kill her, but he didn’t do it. Then she tried to poison her with a magic apple, but eventually a prince found Snow White and she woke up again.

Jacob’s problems were something like that. First Laban tricked him into marrying the wrong daughter. This trapped Jacob into working for him for seven extra years. Then when those years were done and Jacob wanted to go home, Laban persuaded him to stay by promising to give him all the animals that were black or spotted. But then Laban took all the spotted animals out of his flocks and hid them with his sons. But Laban couldn’t win. God was with Jacob, and helped him. Jacob was able to breed animals that were black and spotted, and soon he had a big flock of animals of his own.

We have someone trying to trick us, also. The devil wants us to turn away from the love of God. He tries to make us doubt that God is good and that he cares for us. Or sometimes he tries to make us think that we don’t really need God’s love and forgiveness. Satan will try every trick he can to take us away from our Heavenly Father.

Jesus destroyed the power of the devil. When he died on the cross and rose again from the dead, he won the victory over sin, death, and the devil forever. We can trust Jesus to help us. In his Word, Jesus sends his Holy Spirit to remind us of what he did for us, and of how much he loves us. Jesus will always keep us close to him.

Prayer:

Dear Jesus, please help us when the devil tries to trick us. Keep us close to you forever. Amen.

