Confession and Forgiveness

Bible:

Then Job answered the Lord and said:

“I know that you can do all things,
and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.
‘Who is this that hides counsel without knowledge?’
Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand,
things too wonderful for me, which I did not know.
‘Hear, and I will speak;
I will question you, and you make it known to me.’
I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear,
but now my eye sees you;
therefore I despise myself,
and repent in dust and ashes.” Job 42:1-6 ESV

Blessed is the one whose transgression is forgiven,
whose sin is covered.
Blessed is the man against whom the Lord counts no iniquity,
and in whose spirit there is no deceit.

For when I kept silent, my bones wasted away
through my groaning all day long.
For day and night your hand was heavy upon me;
my strength was dried up as by the heat of summer.

I acknowledged my sin to you,
and I did not cover my iniquity;
I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the Lord,”
and you forgave the iniquity of my sin. Psalm 32:1-5 ESV

Reflection:

Karen had broken a vase that belonged to her mother. It was only a little bit broken on one side, so Karen put it back on the mantel with the broken side facing the wall. Many days went by, and her mother didn’t notice that it was broken. But Karen was miserable. She knew that sooner or later her mother would discover the broken vase. When that happened, she would be in trouble. Finally she told her mother what had happened. Karen felt much better after she had told her mother what she had done. Her mother forgave her, and everything was all right again.

At first, when Job had all his troubles, he kept his faith in God. But later, he started getting angry and bitter. He began to doubt God’s love and wisdom. He said things to God that were sinful. This made him feel even worse. After God talked to Job, Job confessed that he was wrong. God forgave Job for his sins. He restored Job to a good relationship with him.

We are like Job. We sin against God. Sometimes there might be something we do that we feel very bad about. We can always take that to God and know that he forgives us. We can be sure he does because Jesus died on the cross for us. He took the punishment for all our sins when he did that. We know that God will always forgive our sins for Jesus’ sake.

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father, please forgive all our sins for Jesus’ sake. Thank you that you sent him to die on the cross for us. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

