I Plead, “Not Guilty!”

Bible:

And Job again took up his discourse, and said:
“As God lives, who has taken away my right,
and the Almighty, who has made my soul bitter,
as long as my breath is in me,
and the spirit of God is in my nostrils,
my lips will not speak falsehood,
and my tongue will not utter deceit.
Far be it from me to say that you are right;
till I die I will not put away my integrity from me.
I hold fast my righteousness and will not let it go;
my heart does not reproach me for any of my days. Job 27:1-6 ESV

But now the righteousness of God has been manifested apart from the law, although the Law and the Prophets bear witness to it—the righteousness of God through faith in Jesus Christ for all who believe. For there is no distinction: for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith. Romans 3:21-25a ESV

Reflection:

“How do you plead?” the judge asked the accused man.

“I plead, ‘Not guilty,'” the man replied. The man was accused of stealing things from a store. He knew he had not done that, and he had a witness to show that he had been somewhere else when the robbery had happened. He would not confess to a crime that he did not commit. He hoped the judge would agree that he was not guilty, and set him free.

Job was sure that he had not done any terrible sins to deserve all the trouble he was having. Again and again his friends had told him that bad things only happen to bad people, and that he must have done something very horrible. Job now says that he is not guilty, and that he will never confess to a sin he did not commit. He wished God would hear him and agree and set him free from his problems.

We all wish that we could be not guilty before God. But, that isn’t possible based on our own good deeds. Everyone in the world has sinned, and there’s no one that has a right to hope God will declare him or her not guilty. The good news is that God has given us a different way. That way is through faith in Jesus and his death on the cross for us. Because of Jesus, God looks at us and says that we are “not guilty.” What a wonderful gift!

Prayer:

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for sending Jesus to die for us so that we could be not guilty before you. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

