How to Find God

Bible:

Then Job answered and said:
Oh, that I knew where I might find him,
that I might come even to his seat!
I would lay my case before him
and fill my mouth with arguments.
Behold, I go forward, but he is not there,
and backward, but I do not perceive him;
on the left hand when he is working, I do not behold him;
he turns to the right hand, but I do not see him. Job 24:1, 3-4, 8-9 ESV

Thomas said to him, “Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?” Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you had known me, you would have known my Father also. From now on you do know him and have seen him.”

Philip said to him, “Lord, show us the Father, and it is enough for us.” Jesus said to him, “Have I been with you so long, and you still do not know me, Philip? Whoever has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’? Do you not believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? John 14:5-10a

Reflection:

Many people today seem to be trying to find God. There are many places they look. They might go out in nature and try to find him there. Or they might try to make their minds and bodies very quiet, and see if they can find God inside themselves. Some people learn a little about a lot of different religions, thinking that in this one or that one, or in a combination of two or three religions, they might find the God they’re looking for.

Job felt that God was far away from him. He didn’t think God had treated him fairly, and he wanted to talk to God and tell him how he felt. But he didn’t know where to find God. He looked very hard for God, but he couldn’t find him anywhere.

Jesus’ disciples wanted to see and know God, too. They asked Jesus to show God to them. Jesus told them that he and God were the same. If they looked at him, they were looking at God. To find the way to God the Father, you have to go through Jesus. He is the only way.

This is good news. Jesus opened the way for us to find and know God by dying for us on the cross. Because of this, we never have to search for God. We know we will always find him in Jesus.

Prayer:

Dear Jesus, Thank you for being the way back to our Heavenly Father. Help us always to look for God in you. Amen.

