I Wish I’d Never Been Born!

Bible:

After this Job opened his mouth and cursed the day of his birth.
“Why did I not die at birth,
come out from the womb and expire?
Or why was I not as a hidden stillborn child,
as infants who never see the light?
There the wicked cease from troubling,
and there the weary are at rest.
There the prisoners are at ease together;
they hear not the voice of the taskmaster.
The small and the great are there,
and the slave is free from his master.
Why is light given to a man whose way is hidden,
whom God has hedged in?
For my sighing comes instead of my bread,
and my groanings are poured out like water.
For the thing that I fear comes upon me,
and what I dread befalls me.
I am not at ease, nor am I quiet;
I have no rest, but trouble comes.” Job 3:1, 11, 16-19, 23-26 ESV

My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?
Why are you so far from saving me, from the words of my groaning?
O my God, I cry by day, but you do not answer,
and by night, but I find no rest. Psalm 22:1-2 ESV

Reflection:

Bud’s parents took him to the fair. There were all kinds of things to do there. There were carnival games, rides, lots of food, and exhibits to see. Bud was really excited. But before they had been there long, Bud got separated from his mom and dad. Suddenly the day became a nightmare. Bud didn’t have any money, so he couldn’t do any of the fun things he had been looking forward to. But that wasn’t the worst problem. Being separated from his parents was the worst thing. Until his parents found him, he was so upset that he wished he’d never come to the fair at all.

This is a little bit like the way Job felt. He felt terrible about losing all his wealth and all his children, and he was very sick and in pain. But that wasn’t the worst thing. The worst thing was that he felt separated from God. He didn’t feel like he knew God’s love and care anymore. That made him feel so bad that he wished he’d never even been born.

When we have troubles, we might feel as if God is far away from us. We might feel like he doesn’t care about us at all. Sin separates us from God, and makes it impossible for us to see God and his love. But God never leaves us alone in our trouble. He gives us faith and courage when things are bad. He sent Jesus to take all our sins away. Jesus felt the pain of being separated from God on the cross, and because of that, we never have to worry that God will leave us. He loves us all the time, and helps us with all our problems.

Prayer:

Dear Jesus, thank you for taking all our sins away on the cross, and for promising never to leave us, no matter what. Amen.

